Sharksonline's Blog

Cow shark

Posted on: May 19, 2010

Above the Cow shark

1. There are just four species of cow shark and they are Sharpnose seven-gill shark, Bluntnose sixgill shark, Bigeye sixgill shark and Broadnose sevengill shark

2. The Cow shark grow up to 1.4 meters (4.6 ft) to over 5.5 meters (18 ft) in length.

3. Unlike most shark the cow shark and it’s family have 7 or 6 gill slits on both side.

4. The Cow shark skeleton resemble that of the ancient extinct shark with few modern adaptations.

5. The Cow sharks are ovoviviparous with the mother retaining the egg-cases in her body until they hatch.

6. They feed on relatively large fish of all kinds, including other sharks, as well as on crustaceans and carrion.

All of this info is from


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: